Bio-Oil VS Stretch Marks

I done a post a while back about whether Rescue or Cocoa Butter was any good for easing the appearance of stretch marks before I had tried the more expensive alternative of Bio-Oil.

A couple of months ago I was diagnosed with Hashimotos which is an autoimmune disease but you will probably know it better as a type of under-active thyroid.  This lovely disease has made me gain two and a half stone in weight and therefore a lot of stretch marks.  My doctor failed to take note when I said I was rapidly gaining weight and I didn’t know why – so it took six months before another doctor actually believed that I wasn’t just fat and took blood tests. It is amazing how much damage six months can do.

This is just a small example of what I am dealing with – marks like that are right across my stomach on to my hips and extend from my pubic bone to just above my belly button.  I have some other stretching on my boobs and arms.  I am also pretty sure I am not getting them on my legs.  Not only are the marks unsightly and much cause for me crying myself to sleep but they itch like hell.  I can’t go a day without putting something on them whether that be Bio-oil or just a moisturiser. The Bio-oil certainly helps with itching.

When you look at that photo it is probably not going to convince you that bio-oil works but it has eased off some of my earliest stretch marks and the reason I reckon it has not made a dent on the ones above is because my body is continuing to gain weight regardless of what I do. If you look you can see some of the marks are lighter at the bottom than the top.  I don’t think it has helped me much with stopping stretch marks from appearing though but it might once my body stops gaining weight.

It has been the best product I have used for stretch-marks so far though and on less severe cases of stretch marks I am certain it would work wonders.  Any one else struggling with stretch marks due to illness?

5/5

I am currently awaiting samples of Betty Hula’s Stretch Mark Oil – so I will get a review of this to compare with Bio-Oil once it arrives.

Leave a Reply

